Home > Memories > There’s always room for more.

There’s always room for more.

August 13, 2012

The first time I made dinner for the wonderful person who is now my husband, I made a big pot of what we affectionately call “Back East” spaghetti sauce. We had talked about the spaghetti sauces that we knew from our youth, which seemed to be area specific. It was your basic Italian tomato sauce with meatballs and sausages. No need to decide between sweet and hot Italian sausage. Of course I used both. Liking the flavor that pork imparts to the sauce, I seared some country-style ribs in a pan, and threw them in also. Well, you really can’t, (or it might just be that I can’t), make just a few meatballs, or brown up just a couple of sausages, or pork ribs. Soon, the meats were filling up the pot of tomato sauce that I had made. I needed to put half of them into a second pot. Of course that meant that I had to start chopping more onions and garlic to make more tomato sauce to cover all of the meat in both pots. By the time that S. came over, I had three huge pots on the stove, two containing all of the meats in tomato sauce, as well as a huge pot of water, waiting for the pasta to be added. S. came in, looked at the stove, went directly into the living room, and looked out of the window. I asked him what he was doing. He answered, “Looking for the fleet.”

And that is how I tend to cook quite often. One thing it does, is assure us of great leftovers, some of which we vacuum seal and freeze. It’s wonderful to have a great meal on a night when there is no time to cook it. Or, if you are ever hungry and in the neighborhood, just stop by, ’cause there’s always room for more.

Categories: Memories Tags:
  1. hakonow
    August 31, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    Jackie, I’m so glad you started this blog. Looking forward to hearing all about your culinary adventures and stories. Better still, looking forward to partaking in a fabulous meal with you sometime ; )

    • September 8, 2012 at 12:35 pm

      I am so happy that you are enjoying it. We definitely need to share a meal, matched with good wine.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
