Home > Ice Cream > Homemade Ice Cream. Really?

Homemade Ice Cream. Really?

September 27, 2012

 

Black Coffee Ice Cream

Ice cream is one of those things that I never thought I would make myself.  I figured that there are so many good ice creams out there, I would use the time I had for cooking  to make other things.  Last year, I started to pay attention to the homemade ice creams that our dear friend Ralph always makes to go with desserts that grace the table for Thanksgiving dinner. Last year, I helped Ralph make the ice creams. And then I borrowed his ice cream machine. And then I started making ice cream. And then I was hooked. And then… yeah, we bought an ice cream maker. The first ice cream that we made was Swiss Orange Chip, a custard-based ice cream.  You can read about that ice cream here. https://thereisalwaysroomformore.wordpress.com/2012/08/20/discovering-swiss-orange-chip-ice-cream/

Then, thanks to Leite’s Culinaria, we were introduced to Jeni Britton Bauer. Her ice cream recipes use a cornstarch slurry as well as cream cheese in place of the egg custard. We tried the Black Coffee Ice Cream, and were sold on Jeni’s method. I don’t need a chicken in every pot, but lately I need a container of this ice cream in our freezer. Every day. You can find the recipe for this wonderful ice cream at Leite’s site here. http://leitesculinaria.com/79285/recipes-black-coffee-ice-cream.html   Right now, I gotta go make some more.

Categories: Ice Cream Tags:
